I WAS NOT EIGHTEEN

too-much-truth-recap-what-solutions-are-there-to-help-young-black-boys
I was not eighteen
But was sent to jail
A social dungeon
That made me a dragon

I was not eighteen
My birth was rushed
My parents were sixteen
So I was flushed

I was not eighteen
So I could not walk
Aunty carried me
But in her laps

I was not eighteen
Made a good boy
Or a good toy
Delivering cigarettes

I was not eighteen
So I had no room
I learnt the rules
I called my friend
To try the night

I am not eighteen
But my father’s mate
I take what he takes
Don’t call me a tout
It is just a stout

A juvenile?
It was worthwhile
Teetotaling was a taboo
It was our promise land
Call it Egypt
It was all at hand

I was not eighteen
But sent to jail
Social dungeon
Sign my bail
Or call me a dragon.

 

By Alpha E. Y.  2016©

Categories:

Leave a Reply

