THE RYHMELESS REFRAIN Of AFRICA

cryingafrica
My face is masked in dust
My path shrouded by my wrinkled age
Bring my weary bones to dusk
End my eyes the dripping sores of today
I am tired of regurgitating rotten relic
I wish to relinquish a spilling rage
Take me to the sea
I care little of the snow flakes
Let it crack still my hair strands
Make shrill my voice
Imbrue my haggard coat
I will still sing bold
The crest is greener on the other side
Take me home
Where I shall sleep with peacocks
Where my name will fly like eagles
Where my fossils will remain golden

By Alpha E. Y. 2016©

Categories:

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

